PhD scholarships 2020 – Ireland India Institute and Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

COVID-19 Update:

Our PhD application process will continue as planned, however it may not be possible for the successful candidates to start in September as would be usual, and we will plan for a later registration date depending on developments in the international situation.

Dublin City University’s Ireland India Institute in conjunction with DCU Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences invites applications from students for four PhD studentships, valued of 16 000 (plus fees) pa, for up to four years.

We welcome high-quality applications from those interested in working within the wide areas of expertise in the Faculty, but especially in the following topic areas:

  • The connections between the Indian nationalist movement and the new Irish state, covering some or all of the period 1920 to 1980). Contact: Dr Daithi O Corrain, DCU School of History and Geography, ocorrain@dcu.ie
  • Peace and conflict studies – focused on one or more cases in the North East of India. (Contact: Professor John Doyle  doyle@dcu.ie
  • Indian Politics / India’s Foreign Policy – focused on contemporary political issues and/or foreign policy. Contact Dr Jivanta Schottli schottli@dcu.ie
  • Digital social media practices in contemporary elections: single country or regional South Asian focus or Changing image practices in South Asian news industries. Contact: Dr Saumava Mitra, School of Communications, mitra@dcu.ie.
  • Translator interaction with machine translation for Indian languages.  Contact Dr Joss Moorkens, moorkens@dcu.ie
  • The impact of climate change on forced migration in India Contact Dr Agnès Maillot, maillot@dcu.ie.
  • Languages-in-education policy in India (Contact Dr Jennifer Bruen,bruen@dcu.ie
  • Writing India: English-language tales and novels between circa 1800 to 1947 (contact Dr Sharon Murphy murphy@dcu.ie)
  • Post-colonial connections: The English-language Indian novel and the Irish novel in the 20th century. (contact Prof. Derek Hand hand@dcu.ie)

DCU has a strong focus on South Asia, with a vibrant PhD community specialising on the region.  The University is the host and coordinator for a €3.9m EU funded “European Training Network”, called Global India, focused on India’s emerging international role, linking leading European and South Asian Universities and providing an excellent professional network for our PhD students.     The University also hosts the annual South Asia Studies conference in Ireland, now emerging as one of the largest such events in Europe.

Criteria

The successful candidates must have a Masters degree in a relevant discipline, fluent English and excellent academic grades. International students will need to meet the university’s English language requirements.  http://www.dcu.ie/registry/english.shtml.  The PhD programme will provide significant mentoring support and therefore scholars must be resident in Dublin.  All positions will begin on 1 October 2020.

Informal Enquiries are welcomed and can be made to the nominated supervisors above or

  • Professor Eileen Connolly, Director of Ireland India Institute, E-mail: eileen.connolly@dcu.ie
  • Potential Supervisors listed above will be happy to facilitate discussion on draft research proposals.

Further information:

These projects will be hosted by the relevant academic schools and the chosen candidates will also work with DCU’s Ireland India Institute.  Further details on

https://www.dcu.ie/humanities_and_social_sciences/index.shtml

https://irelandindia.ie

These PhD scholarships have a value of up to €21,000 to €27,000 (full fees either EU or non-EU rate, plus €16,000pa (usually tax-free), for up to 4 years, subject to satisfactory progress.  Students will also be provided with excellent supervision and strong professional mentoring along with their own workspace in a shared office.

Closing date for receipt of applications: 26 March 2020

Applications should be made to India@dcu.ie and they should include

    • a cv,
    • a one-page letter of application.
    • the grades achieved in your Master’s degree
    • a research proposal (maximum 2000 words), setting out your research question, how the research relates to existing academic literature and a brief description of your proposed methodology.
Menu