Postgraduate Conference on South Asia, 26 May 2017

The first Ireland India Postgraduate Conference on South Asia was held by the Ireland India Institute on the 26th of May 2017. Hosted in the picturesque All Hallows’ Campus of DCU it featured two engaging speeches by keynote speakers Dr. Faisal Devji and Dr. Meena Kandasamy and nine panels attended by over fifty participants. The myriad of research interests and issues that were raised generated interesting discussions and created an open space for academic engagement. The panels ranged from literary readings of South Asia, narrative and memory studies to new perspectives on conflict resolution as well as re-inventing normative academic discourses. The Ireland India Institute was glad to host participants from esteemed institutions across Europe and South Asia and expect a larger participation again for the 2018 South Asia Conference. Faisal Devji and Meena Kandasamy graced the day with keynotes, and 29 participants presented papers on a wide range of issues concerning South Asia.

Details of the programme schedule for the 2017 conference can be found here.

The second annual conference on South Asia will be hosted by the Ireland India Institute on the 26th and 27th of April 2018. The deadline for the call for abstracts is the 1st of December 2017. Please follow webpage for further details.

Videos of keynote lectures by Faisal Devji and Meena Kandasamy can be found below.



Eileen Connolly, Director of Ireland India Institute (left) chairs the panel titled ‘I was there: Narrating Memories, Revisiting History’.
Meena Kandasamy speaks on ‘Power Play: Clothes and Caste in India’
Faisal Devji’s keynote on ‘Gandhi, the Gita and Modern India’
Arpita Chakraborty, Harikrishnan, Mantasha Binti Rashid (left to right)
Anjoo Sharan Upadhyaya chairs the panel titled ‘The Interplay of Religion and Politics in South Asia’
Dr Gezim Visoka chairs the panel titled ‘Conflict and Concord: Imagining the Future of South Asia’
Professor John Doyle, Dean Humanities and Social Sciences, delivers the vote of thanks
Anjoo Sharan Upadhyaya and Meena Kandasamy (left to right)
Sweta Chakraborty, Harikrishnan, Arpita Chakraborty, Mohd. Tahir Ganie, Bitopi Dutta (left to right)